First Team - Match centre

Taunton Town
Mangotsfield United
Sat 7 Apr 15:00 - The Evo-Stik League Southern - Division One South & West Full time Attendance 173

'Field Hit By Late, Late, Goal

Under the guidance of the Caretaker Management team of Geraint Bater and Scott Hendy Mangotsfield United recorded a fifth draw in the last six matches afer conceding late on at Wordsworth Drive.


After the surprise resignation on Thursday of Manager Phil Bater and Assistant Manager James Rowberry team affairs were handled on a temporary basis by Geraint Bater and Scott Hendy.

The duo looked to have guided Mangotsfield to three points after Kyle Tooze's twenty sixth minute opener but with three minutes of additional time played Jamie Short pounced to snatch a late leveller for the hosts.

Mangotsfield's starting line up showed one change from last Saturday with the returning Noah Keats coming into replace Luke Palmer who was named amongst the four substitutes which also included Daine O'Connor.

A match of few chances started brightly with the hosts going close to an early opener when Leon Taswell was played in on the left where after making ground into the penalty area his effort was blocked by former Taunton Town goalkeeper Chris Astley.

Mangotsfield's first noteworthy chance came on twenty six minutes as Kyle Tooze opened the scoring, applying the finish at the second attempt after meeting Mitchell Page's cross from the left.

Five minutes later a quickly taken corner on the left worked short to Peter Knox caught Mangotsfield unaware allowing Knox to shoot low across the face of goal and wide of the far post.

The only other notable chance of the first half came with ten minutes remaining, Lee Marshall testing Lee Matthews with a low free kick from twenty five yards which was parried away from goal.

As in the first half clearcut chances in the second half remained at a premium as both goalkeepers were rarely tested.

The first Mangotsfield substitution came on the hour mark as Lewis Parker was replaced by Sean Seavill.

On sixty five minutes Kyle Tooze was played in on the left side of the area where his goalbound low strike was blocked behind for a corner.

Minutes later Mangotsfield had further joy down the Taunton left, this time Karim Rendall getting into the area only to show a lack of composure when blazing over at the near post.

The home side were reduced to ten men for the final eighteen minutes after Owen Irish was dismissed after receiving a second yellow card after a reckless challenge on Karim Rendall.

Mangotsfield's second change of the match came on seventy five minutes when Daine O'Connor replaced goal scorer Kyle Tooze.

With a sixth away win of the season looking likely Taunton equalised in the ninety third minute after a move down the left flank ended with substitute Graham Mercieca crossing to the near post for Jamie Short who planted a firm header past Chris Astley.

Mangotsfield United Line Up : 1. Chris Astley, 2. Alex Hoyle, 3. Tom Parrinello, 4. Noah Keats, 5. Gary Colborne, 6. Lee Marshall, 7. Lewis Parker (16. Sean Seavill 60'), 8. Geraint Bater, 9. Mitchell Page, 10. Kyle Tooze (12. Daine O'Connor 75'), 11. Karim Rendall.

Substitutes : 12. Daine O'Connor, 14. Luke Palmer, 15. Scott Hendy, 16. Sean Seavill.

Taunton Town Line Up : 1. Lee Matthews, 2. Jamie Short, 3. Phil Veal (12. Tim Legg 56'), 4. Chris McGrath, 5. Owen Irish, 6. Jon Vance, 7. Leon Taswell (14. George Painter 73'), 8. Simon Ingram, 9. Peter Knox, 10. Rodney Marsh, 11. Corey Lewis (17. Graham Mercieca 82').

Substitutes : 12. Tim Legg, 14. George Painter, 15. Andy Butler, 16. Luke Cole, 17. Graham Mercieca.

Officials : Mr. P. Lister, Mr G. Martin, Mr A. Salter.


Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

League round up

Other Division One South & West results

Abingdon United
Poole Town
Gosport Borough
Halesowen Town
Hungerford Town
Wimborne Town
Didcot Town
Yate Town
North Leigh

League table

# Team Pd Pts
1. Bideford 40 92
2. Poole Town 40 81
3. Gosport Borough 40 80
4. Sholing 40 74
5. Hungerford Town 40 71
6. North Leigh 40 68
7. Paulton Rovers 40 64
8. Thatcham Town 40 62

Team sponsors


Club sponsors