First Team - Match centre

Mangotsfield United
Cinderford Town
Thu 2 May 19:30 - Friendly Full time Attendance 135

'Field Round Off Season In Style

Mangotsfield United rounded off the season in style with a comprehensive win against Cinderford Town to lift The GFA Senior Challenge Trophy for the first time in ten years.


For the fixture played at Cossham Street manager Richard Thompson made three changes to the starting line-up, Jordan Walker and Marcus Duharty returning along with Kyle Tooze who was recalled after a three match ban.

The opening goal for Mangotsfield came with just five minutes played after Marcus Duharty broke down the middle finding Kyle Tooze on the left who after a great run pulled a superb ball back for Duharty as he arrived in the area to slot the ball home from 8 yards.

With 12 minutes played Cinderford were twice denied by goal line clearances, the first chance being blocked on the line by Shaun Lamb with the rebound then being cleared off by Tom Parrinello.

With the match flowing from end to end Marcus Duharty went close with a shot from a tight angle which Alex Harris did well to get his fingertips to touch over the bar.

The only booking of the match followed with Kyle Tooze cautioned for a reckless sliding tackle. Shaun Lamb then went close with a well struck effort which just cleared the bar.

After going in at half time with a one goal lead Mangotsfield added a second on 52 minutes when a Matt Thorne free kick was met by Lee Marshall who headed home powerfully from 6 yards out for the central defenders sixth goal of the season.

The first of three substitutions for Mangotsfield came on 58 minutes with the introduction of Adnan Hiroli for Jordan Walker.

The tie was put beyond Cinderford with just under 30 minutes remaining, Shaun Lamb bagging his fifth of the campaign after making a great run down the left and exchanging passes with Tom Parrinello to take the ball along the byline and guide the ball inside the near post from a tight angle.

Ben Hunt, a 67th minute replacement for Ryan Bath then went through and lifted the ball over the advancing Alex Harris only to see his effort headed clear off the line.

A rare second half opening for Cinderford saw former Mangotsfield player Sam O'Sullivan go clear only to blaze over from the edge of the area.
On 81 minutes Richard Thompson made a third change bringing on 16 year old striker Liam Monelle in a straight swap for Marcus Duharty.

Monelle made it 4-0 in the 89th minute calmly finishing from 16 yards after Alex Harris had blocked Ben Hunts initial strike.

Mangotsfield United: 1. Kevin Sawyer, 2. Neil Arndale, 3. Shaun Lamb, 4. Lee Marshall, 5. Ryan Bennett, 6. Matt Thorne, 7. Kyle Tooze, 8. Jordan Walker, 9. Ryan Bath, 10. Marcus Duharty, 11. Tom Parrinello.

Substitutes: 12. Ben Hunt, 14. Dave Stone, 15. Adnan Hiroli, 16. Liam Monelle, 17. Mike Whittington.

Cinderford Town: 1. Alex Harris, 2. Keiran Thomas, 3. Matt Smith (58’, 12. Christian Fieldan), 4. Greg Lewis, 5. Warren Archer, 6. Andy Lewis, 7. Jack Camm, 8. Dale Evans, 9. Sam O'Sullivan, 10. David Bird (58’, 14. Danny Haines), 11. Matt Barnes.

Substitutes: 12. Christian Fieldan, 14. Danny Haines, 15. Lee Smith, 16. Dan Harrison, 17. Josh Emery

Bookings: -

Referee : Mr R. Morris
Assistant Referees: Mr S. Fudge, Mr A. Olagunju
Fourth official: Mr I. Purchase


Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.

Team sponsors


Club sponsors